“Cloister Cemetery in the Snow” stop motion animation

· Uncategorized
Authors

Here is the planning out for this stop motion animation.

GREEN SCREENS:

 

Monk A Green Screen

Monk B Green Screen

Monk Hand Green Screen

ANIMATIC FOR PLANNING:

STORYBOARD:

Cloister-Cemetery-Storyboard-1024x768

MUSIC:

The animation will be set to the following Gregorian Chant music, which may be shortened in an edited version for the final to match up for timing.  This song is called “Renaissance Voices” and used with permission of FirstCom: http://m.firstcom.com/en/Browse/Labels/CD%20Listing/CD%20Details/Track%20Details.aspx?cdId=6327&wId=424807

PLANNING THE CLAY CHARACTERS:

At first, I was going to do most everything in either clay or fabricated elements (styrofoam, cardboard, etc).  But I ran into a limitation with the app I am using (iStopMotion).  The company that made the app decided not to provide a zoom option (as that would lessen the optical quality since it’s only a digital zoom on the iPad).  For without a zoom, I would have to be positioned with my camera in a way that would cause the monks to be super tiny (smaller than a pinky) which I did want to do.   So I shifted to making only the Monks in chavant clay and the rest in digital.  I am also hoping to try out shadow puppets for the background to show the sky, horizon, and effects of the sun.  All the rest will be handled in post production — probably with Adobe After Effects.  So now that I will do the Monks in a larger scale, I decided to plan them first in Maya to get an idea of their forms before modeling in clay.

Initial-Monk-Modeling-in-Maya

Initial-Monk-Modeling-in-Maya

EQUIPMENT

I will be using a Manfrotto tripod with The Joy Factory Tournez Tripod Mount for Apple iPad.  I also used a small tripod for iPhone to remote control the camera from the iPad or shoot directly from the iPad.  The app I am using is iStopMotion, which provides a full HD1080 resolution video output along with the ability to see a ghosted image of the previous frame.

 

